The Independent Māori Statutory Board is an independent body corporate of nine members based in Auckland. The Board has specific responsibilities and powers under the Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 to promote issues of significance to Māori to the Auckland Council.

Two Board members sit with voting rights on each of the council’s committees that deal with the management and stewardship of natural and physical resources. The Board also provides direction and guidance to the Auckland Council on issues affecting Māori to help improve council responsiveness to Māori.

The Board is appointed to the following council committees:

  • Finance and Performance Committee
  • Planning Committee
  • Environment and Climate Change
  • Park, Arts and Community Events
  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Regulatory Committee
  • Civil Defence and Emergency Management Committee
  • Auckland Domain Committee.
  • CCO Oversight Committee
  • Strategic Procurement
  • Value for Money

The Board meets at least six times a year and is supported by a Secretariat. Meetings are open to the public except where confidential items are being considered.  Details of meetings, agendas and minutes are available on this website.

Board membership is by way of a selection and appointment process. The Minister of Māori Development invites
mana whenua to form a selection body. This body meets several times to select the nine board members.

Seven members represent mana whenua and two members represent mātāwaka.

The Board term of office is three years. Current Board members were appointed in November 2019. The First Board was appointed in 2010.