Board Announces Appointments

1 November 2019

At the inaugural meeting of the new three-year term on Friday 1 November, the Independent Māori Statutory Board  confirmed the reappointment of Mr David Taipari as Board Chairman and the appointment of Hon. Tau Henare as Deputy Chairman.

Mr Taipari says, “Tau Henare has served as a Board member for the past three years and brings extensive political networks and experience.”

Mr Taipari says the nine member Board will continue to strongly advocate to Auckland Council, solutions to the issues that are significant to Maori in Tāmaki Makaurau. This involves giving clear direction to Council to improve or change their key policies, plans and resources that assist Maori to achieve their aspirations and ensure that the Treaty of Waitangi principles are being integrated into the way the council operates.

 “It is why the Board’s focus is on providing Council with high-quality advice and information based on sound research from both a Te Ao Māori and mainstream perspective.  

Decisions affecting the future of Auckland must include the leadership of Māori so that we can build a prosperous Auckland for the future that reflects the partnership and essence of the Treaty,” Mr Taipari says.