Mātāwaka are Māori living in the Auckland region who are not in a Mana Whenua group.

There are many mātāwaka groups within the Tāmaki Makaurau region including Urban Authorities which were established to represent multiple tribes who migrated to Auckland.

The 1980’s saw an influx of Māori from many regions around the country and as a result, two Urban Authorities have been established to represent their interests in Tāmaki Makaurau.

There are also other organisations which provide services to mainly Māori clientele, e.g Māori Health Organisations, Education, Sport and Recreation etc.

Urban Authorities

Te Whānau o Waipareira Trust (West Auckland)

Manukau Urban Māori Authority (South Auckland)